top of page

Afterthoughts on Making a Murderer on Netflix


So I’ll be honest, I almost gave up on this in only its 2nd week… My goal was to work on it during the week, get a topic and type it out and then edit it and get it ready for when we release our next episode. This week hasn’t been abnormally busy and nothing crazy happened, other than being sucked into ‘Making a Murderer’ on Netflix! I guess that would answer for my missing hours during the week when I normally would just be sitting in front of my computer. We will chat about that show on this week’s episode of Green UP #102, I am not sure if all my co-hosts have watched it and if they have gotten all the way through it. I strongly recommend you watch it!

The thought of being put away in prison for a crime you didn’t commit, is pretty scary. But it happens everyday, this show touches a little bit on the first case where he was put away for 18 years, and if you do a quick google search on the statistic it’s a little overwhelming. It is estimated that between 2.3% and 5% of all prisoners in the U.S. are innocent. If only 1% are innocent, that would mean that more than 20,000 innocent people are in prison.

Now when it comes to this specific Netflix Documentary, I have read a few articles that point out they left some very interesting facts about the case. For example, Avery had called and specifically asked for Halbach to come out to photograph his vehicles the months leading up to her murder. Also she made a complaint to her supervisor that she did not feel comfortable to go to Avery’s house, due to one time he came out just wearing a towel. I will admit when I watched the episode when they go to look at the vile of blood and the tape had been cut and there was a needle hole in it, WTF!!? The show really comes across on Avery’s side, and I understand they can’t show every piece of evidence, it would make it a very long show and kind of boring.

After watching the show, my wife made the comment that he is guilty of something and she thinks Halbach’s brother did it, either way Avery is still in prison and we have a very good show to watch, if anything it sparks the conversation about our judicial system. I was raised not to break the laws and to respect officers of the law. In my life I have only had to go to court once, for my tags on my plates expiring and even that I was just paying the fine.

I really enjoyed the documentary, it gave me and my wife something we both enjoyed watching together and spark some good discussions. If you are into crime drama, crime documentary, shows like dateline or that ID channel I think you are going to love this show. Watch it and let us know what you think!

Thanks for reading,

Ryan.

Feel free to email me at greenuppodcasting@gmail.com tweet us at @greenuppodcast or just click on the ‘Contact Us’ link.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page